Waiting on Wednesday: Blue Notes by Carrie Lofty

Waiting on Wednesday Button-01

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming books whose releases are being eagerly awaited. Bloggers are encouraged to join in and post about the book they’re looking forward to reading.

blue notes

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Gallery Books| May 6, 2014

For fans of Jamie McGuire and S.C. Stephens, a sizzling new adult novel featuring the tumultuous relationship between a young piano prodigy and a reluctant billionaire playboy—set against the vibrant backdrop of a New Orleans college campus.

After being bounced from foster family to foster family, Keeley, a talented pianist, is ready to start over as a junior at Tulane. But when she plays a small concert that attracts the attention of Jude, a brooding playboy and heir to an enormous fortune in the wake of his parents’ tragic death, suddenly Keeley’s life is thrown off balance once again.

Jude is the first person to confront her about the pain behind her music, and she struggles with whether or not to let him into her life, or to keep protecting herself from the hurt that relationships have caused her in the past. But Keeley’s about to learn that the melancholy young billionaire who appears to have everything he wants can open her eyes to exactly what she needs…

OK, seriously — how sweet is that cover? LOVE IT! And it’s NA (which I love), involves a piano prodigy (I love the piano!), AND it doesn’t seem typical of a lot of the other NA books out there. WIN. You guys all know my love for books about music, so naturally, I’m excited about this one!

What are you waiting for? 

signature-01

Review: Crystal Cove (Friday Harbor, #4) by Lisa Kleypas

books-reviews-button-01

Crystal CoveTitle: Crystal Cove
Series: Friday Harbor, #4
Author:
Lisa Kleypas
Genre:
Contemporary Romance
Source:
Library (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

In New York Times bestselling author Lisa Kleypas’s Crystal Cove, Justine Hoffman has made a comfortable life for herself on the island of Friday Harbor. She is the proprietor of a successful boutique hotel, and she has the safe, predictable life she has always wanted. Growing up with her flighty, nomadic mother, Marigold, has instilled in her a deep longing for stability. But in spite of everything Justine has achieved, there is still something missing. Love. And after years of waiting and dreaming, she is willing to do whatever it takes to change her destiny.

What Justine soon discovers is that someone cast a spell on her when she was born, with the result that she will never find her soul mate. Determined to change her fate, Justine finds a way to break the enchantment, never dreaming of the dangerous complications that will follow.

And when Justine meets the mysterious Jason Black, she accidentally unleashes a storm of desire and danger that threaten everything she holds dear . . . because Jason has secrets of his own, and he wants more from her than fate will ever allow.

my thoughts-01

As much as I loved the first book I read in this series (book number two, to be exact — obviously I’m not worried about reading these in order!), I have to say that this book was a bit … different.

One of my hesitations in the first book was the magic of the story’s characters. They weren’t witches, per se, but magical things could happen when they were around. This book goes a bit deeper than that, mostly in the fact that the male lead, Jason, has no soul. I mean … what?

This isn’t to say that the magic held me back in this book, but it was definitely a bit different to read. I did like the story and once I got past the amount of magic that the story was offering, I started to enjoy it a bit more. It’s definitely not the kind of contemporary romance that I’m used to reading, that’s for sure! When it comes to this series, I think the paranormal/magic bit is what will make this story not one of my favourites in the series, which is too bad since it’s the fourth one in the series — one would only think that the story would get better. There was also a lot of instalove — which really isn’t that believable, unfortunately.

Needless to say, Kleypas really does write a good contemporary romance and I look forward to seeing what the rest of the series has to offer.

rating-4-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

Review: Hellgoing: Stories by Lynn Coady

made in canada-01

hellgoingTitle: Hellgoing: Stories
Author:
Lynn Coady
Genre: Short Stories
Source: Purchased (eBook)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

With astonishing range and depth, Scotiabank Giller Prize finalist Lynn Coady gives us eight unforgettable new stories, each one of them grabbing our attention from the first line and resonating long after the last.

A young nun charged with talking an anorexic out of her religious fanaticism toys with the thin distance between practicality and blasphemy. A strange bond between a teacher and a schoolgirl takes on ever deeper, and stranger, shapes as the years progress. A bride-to-be with a penchant for nocturnal bondage can’t seem to stop bashing herself up in the light of day.

Equally adept at capturing the foibles and obsessions of men and of women, compassionate in her humour yet never missing an opportunity to make her characters squirm, fascinated as much by faithlessness as by faith, Lynn Coady is quite possibly the writer who best captures what it is to be human at this particular moment in our history.

my thoughts-01

Short stories have always been something that alludes me. I mean, I understand the novel and I kind of get poetry (something I never really studied in university. Give me books!), but when it comes to short stories, I felt like it took a lot of work to really extrapolate the TRUE meaning of the story. If there was a meaning. Which, in university, there’s ALWAYS a meaning.

I’m not sure if I would have picked up Hellgoing on my own, but when I saw that local author Lynn Coady was up for a Giller Prize with her collection of stories, I decided to give it a whirl. Not only do I love trying out prize-worthy books, but I also have been on a mission to really explore the depths of local talent we have here in the capital city.

Without a doubt, it’s easy to see that Lynn Coady has talent. Right off the bat, I was in love with her writing style. It’s more mature than what I was used to, but it was also very accessible. I didn’t find myself fumbling through the text and actually found myself absorbed in the stories. Shocking, right?

I think my favourite stories in the collection have to be The Natural Elements, Wireless, and Body Condom. All had very real characters and interesting studies in our actions as humans. The stories aren’t light, they’re hard and sometimes a bit crude. It can be hard to really get to know a character through a short story, but I think there are certain characters (as in my favourites listed previously) who stand out. We don’t get a lot of filler with a short story, nor do we really get a lot of backstory. Instead, we get the here and now and the story that’s happening in this moment. It’s like we’ve suddenly attached ourselves as flies on the wall of someone else’s life, if only for a brief instant.

I’m definitely interested to try out some of Lynn’s full-length works. I think she is a true local talent and definitely worthy of acknowledgement. I’d be interested to see her writing a little serious of a story — maybe something with a mix of seriousness and a bit of humour, but I’d still say that this is a good introduction to her work.

rating-4-01

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB| GOODREADS

signature-01