Waiting on Wednesday: Blue Notes by Carrie Lofty

Waiting on Wednesday Button-01

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming books whose releases are being eagerly awaited. Bloggers are encouraged to join in and post about the book they’re looking forward to reading.

blue notes

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Gallery Books| May 6, 2014

For fans of Jamie McGuire and S.C. Stephens, a sizzling new adult novel featuring the tumultuous relationship between a young piano prodigy and a reluctant billionaire playboy—set against the vibrant backdrop of a New Orleans college campus.

After being bounced from foster family to foster family, Keeley, a talented pianist, is ready to start over as a junior at Tulane. But when she plays a small concert that attracts the attention of Jude, a brooding playboy and heir to an enormous fortune in the wake of his parents’ tragic death, suddenly Keeley’s life is thrown off balance once again.

Jude is the first person to confront her about the pain behind her music, and she struggles with whether or not to let him into her life, or to keep protecting herself from the hurt that relationships have caused her in the past. But Keeley’s about to learn that the melancholy young billionaire who appears to have everything he wants can open her eyes to exactly what she needs…

OK, seriously — how sweet is that cover? LOVE IT! And it’s NA (which I love), involves a piano prodigy (I love the piano!), AND it doesn’t seem typical of a lot of the other NA books out there. WIN. You guys all know my love for books about music, so naturally, I’m excited about this one!

What are you waiting for? 

signature-01

Waiting on Wednesday: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Waiting on Wednesday Button-01

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming books whose releases are being eagerly awaited. Bloggers are encouraged to join in and post about the book they’re looking forward to reading.

the geography of you and me

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Poppy| April 15, 2014

Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.

Lucy and Owen’s relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and — finally — a reunion in the city where they first met.

A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith’s new novel shows that the center of the world isn’t necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.

Oh I am so excited about this one! I absolutely love Jennifer E. Smith’s writing and I love the whole idea of this book — meeting in an elevator? A long distance relationship? Sounds amazing!

What are you waiting for? 

signature-01

Waiting on Wednesday: Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

Waiting on Wednesday Button-01

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming books whose releases are being eagerly awaited. Bloggers are encouraged to join in and post about the book they’re looking forward to reading.

open road summer

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Walker| April 15, 2014

After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind … and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own.

Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about to kick off, offering a perfect opportunity for a girls-only summer of break-up ballads and healing hearts. But when Matt Finch joins the tour as its opening act, his boy-next-door charm proves difficult for Reagan to resist, despite her vow to live a drama-free existence. This summer, Reagan and Lilah will navigate the ups and downs of fame and friendship as they come to see that giving your heart to the right person is always a risk worth taking. A fresh new voice in contemporary romance, Emery Lord’s gorgeous writing hits all the right notes.

So this might be about a country musician (and I am SO against country music) but it still sounds really great. I love a book about music — any music — even if it’s country music! Truthfully, the cover dragged me in first, but the story sounds good, too. LOVE a good story about friendship!

What are you waiting for? 

signature-01